Tasty Toast

It was a rare, semi-cool, cloudy afternoon in the middle of a hot, Kansas summer. In my air-conditioned home, though, using my imagination, it felt like a cold, snowy afternoon. Without using my imagination, I felt hungry and it seemed a perfect time for cinnamon toast.

I placed the two slices of 45 calorie apiece bread in the toaster while I assembled the butter, cinnamon, and sugar canister. In my hunger I planned to spread a generous spoonful of sugar over the butter and finally lightly sprinkle with cinnamon.

Up popped the toasted bread and I quickly finished preparing the cinnamon toast and settled myself at the kitchen counter–ready to devote my full attention to the Andy Griffith show. Andy and Barney were having quite the time capturing three escaped women prisoners–there is no end to the number of blunders Barney makes.

Apparently there is no end to the number of blunders I can make either but I now know I should not confuse the salt canister with the sugar canister.

Leave a Reply

